The Dime Story

Dimes.jpg

I promised some of you that I would share the dime story one day.  Today seems like a good day to do just that, and it is relevant to our walk across America.

But first an update:  We are now 92 miles in.  Kate and I put in 12 miles this morning starting at 7 AM in an effort to beat the heat.  We finished around noon sometime, and are in the vicinity of Palm Springs heading to Indio.  That’s Indio not India, although it feels like we have walked far enough to get to India.  All is good and we are ramping up according to what my legs and feet will allow.

Ok, on to the dime story.  My Father-In-Law, Bup, passed away about 17 years ago.  He was a rather simple man who ran his own landscape business, and was able to provide for a family of 7 (5 kids, my wife Kate being one of them, good luck with that, right?).

Bup made a modest income and between he and Janet, my Mother-In-Law, they made sure their 5 kids had a wonderful upbringing.  It wasn’t materialistic as many of our kids have experienced since then.  There weren’t fancy vacations and plane trips to Florida, Mexico, California, or Hawaii.  There weren’t new cars in the driveway when the kids turned 16.  There weren’t a lot of frills so to speak.  But as my wife has said many times, it was a great childhood and we did things like go to the lake, and take a boat ride to Boblo Island.  They didn’t go into the park mind you.  That would cost too much on a landscapers’ salary, especially one with 5 kids, but Bup and Janet made sure they went, and went as a family.

Kate’s mom and dad were loving parents and giving people.  They donated and volunteered to help those in need up until the day both left this earth.  They would help anyone in need with a whatever they could afford money wise, but mostly with their time and effort.  Fantastic people who have left an indelible impression on so many who they have come in contact with during their lives.

I told you all of that, to set the stage for the dime story and put it all in perspective.  Kate’s mom Janet, left us 2 years ago at the age of 95.  Her longevity is truly amazing based on her diet, which could have thrown the whole medical community and its scientists scurrying to figure out how a woman could live to the age of 95, powered mostly by sugar and junk food, and be as healthy as she was for all those years.  But that is another story.  Janet lived another 15 years after Bup had passed, and shortly after his passing is when it began raining dimes.

It has been recently discovered, that Bup, a man of modest means, had somewhat of an affinity for dimes.  He actually mentioned saving up dimes in some of his writings to Janet, while he was in the  service during World War II.

Certainly, he was not the kind of guy to foolishly waste his money, so floating dollar bills around, or heck even quarters perhaps would be considered extravagant.  Nope, the dime was fitting for Bup, who really didn’t place a lot of value on having a lot of money.  Being a good father and a giving person made him rich beyond that of someone with a million bucks in the bank.

That is why it was, let’s say interesting, when it started raining dimes after he passed away.  Let me describe what I mean by “raining dimes”.  It became somewhat commonplace, pretty soon after his death, that family members would find dimes.  I’m not talking about random change on a sidewalk, say three pennies, a nickel, and a dime. That doesn’t count.  It had to be a lone dime.  And, I’m not talking about a dime in a place where you would expect to find a dime.  I’m talking about places where there is no way that a dime could have accidentally been lost.

I know what you are thinking.  You are thinking that there has to be an explanation for each dime finding.  I understand that completely.  I am a person who puts a lot of emphasis on logical explanations.  I dismissed the notion that Bup was leaving us dimes for quite some time.  It was a cute story, and I would pretend to buy-in to make Janet feel good about the whole thing, but really, a dead guy handing out dimes, c’mon.

As the accumulation of dimes grew to fill a scrapbook, along with a few piggy banks here and there, I was still a non-believer, until one night.  Joe, my  step-son, was living with us for a brief time after college, and there was talk of a dime found by someone in the family that day.  I can’t remember the exact details, but it’s not relevant at this time.  What is relevant is that later in the evening, Kate told Joe and I of the finding.  Of course we scoffed and made fun of it in our usual insensitive humorous way.  Guys do that, right?

Anyways, it was time for Monday Night Football, and Joe and I went downstairs to watch the game.  As it seems to be the norm in our house, the remote was missing.  We looked in the cushions of the couch, various shelves, on top of and under the coffee table, you know the usual spots, when Joe said, “there it is, under the couch”, right below me actually.  I reached down and picked it up and yep, there was a lone dime under the remote, as if Bup was there saying, don’t mess with me boys.  Joe and I were silent for a moment and an extremely strange feeling overcame us.  Ok, you got my attention, maybe there is more to this than we know.

Well, since that fateful day, we have all found numerous dimes.  All the dimes in the picture above have been found by Kate.  Gram, what we affectionately call Janet, had scrapbooks full of dimes.  Others in the family have found dimes in the oddest places even after they have cleaned cars, rugs, you name it, they turn around, and there is a dime.  They have been found shortly after talking to Bup in a time of need, asking for him to watch over us from heaven.  It truly is remarkable.

So that brings us to today, and our trip across the country.  It has been, even in the early going, a bit of an emotional trip.  We are doing it for a cause for one,  Secondly, I’m lucky to be here, and lastly, it is a trip of a lifetime in many ways.  So, it would seem fitting if we found a dime here or there, and guess what?  Yep, you guessed it, we have.

My first dime was found on our second day of the walk, when a park bench showed up along our route, at just about the time when I really I needed to sit.  Of course, taking advantage of this dumb stroke of luck, I dropped m back pack and had a seat.  Directly next to my right thigh, on the bench, was a Canadian dime.  I’m not sure why it was a Canadian dime, So Cal is a long way from Canada after all.  It would have been understandable in Detroit being across the bridge from Windsor, Canada and all, but in Southern California on a bench out side of Oceanside?  My theory is that Bup wanted it to stand out to make sure I got the message.

My second dime is a doosie.  We were driving to a place to begin walking for the day.  We didn’t have the exact location of where we left off the day before, so we arbitrarily stopped in that vicinity, along that road, and Kate stopped to let me out.  I walked to the back of the car and set down my pack to organize my things for the hike.  As I set down the back pack, there was a lone dime, on the side of a random road in the dirt.  We could have picked anyplace along that road to stop.  I could have arranged my things in the car.  How is it, right where I bend over, that there is a dime in the middle of a desert road’s shoulder?

Kate also found a dime.  We believe Bup is telling us good work and keep it up.  Her dime was found outside of a cavern in Arizona on our way out to California.  She found it by the RV, in the dirt parking lot, immediately after we walked through caverns that possessed orbs, which were caught on film.  There are stories that people passed in the caverns decades ago and their spirits still reside in those caves.  My brother-in-law John captured these orbs on nearly every video he took.  For real, I can attest.  Again, I am not necessarily a believer, but I was stopped in my tracks when I saw the videos.

So that’s the dime story.  You may or may not be a believer, but the evidence suggests there is more to it than meets the eye.  I would love to hear if you or your family has any similar stories.  My guess is there are many ways that those who have left us, still communicate with us.  All we have to do is pay attention, and perhaps have a little faith.

1 thought on “The Dime Story”

  1. Yep, sounds about right. Our loved ones are just..right…there. I love how Bup is encouraging you and Kate. I think and pray for you, Kate and this amazing journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

